New blog editor

Lee McKeown, BSSH Scotland Webmaster

Hello everyone,

My name is Lee McKeown and I am the new webmaster of the British Society of Sports History Scotland network.

I have recently completed my course in BA Hons Social Sciences with History from Glasgow Caledonian University, achieving a strong 2:1 grade. I am interested in sports history and wrote my history dissertation on the impact of high-profile African American boxers, such as Muhammad Ali, on influencing 20th century civil rights.

I am currently looking into applying for the online long distance Sports History and Culture MA from De Montfort University in Leicester as I would like to pursue a career in possibly sports academia or sports media.

My background is in the sport of freestyle wrestling were I have competed in domestic and international competitions for over 10 years.

I have 5 years of voluntary experience in being the website administrator of Tryst Lions Wrestling Club in Cumbernauld and as the Communications Assistant for the Scottish Wrestling Association, were I have written content for their website and acted as assistant to the Marketing & Membership Director.

I have also written an article about the history of Scottish wrestling which involved a lot of new independent research, as there was very little existing research on this subject.

I was also a wrestling volunteer at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games were I was involved in looking after the Field of Play. I had an amazing experience at this event and I would like to be involved in a high-profile event such as this again in the future.

I will now be responsible for updating the BSSH Scotland blog and Twitter account (@BSSHScotland), and I am looking forward to the challenges that await.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

